## Resolution

# JOINT RESOLUTION RECOGNIZING NOVEMBER $20^{TH}$ AS TRANSGENDER DAY OF REMEMBRANCE IN SALT LAKE CITY

- **WHEREAS**, in 1998, Rita Hester, a transgender woman of color was murdered in Allston, Massachusetts; and
- **WHEREAS**, the following year, Gwendolyn Ann Smith, a transgender woman, created the first Transgender Day of Remembrance in honor of Rita Hester and other transgender people who have lost their lives to violence; and
- **WHEREAS**, Transgender Day of Remembrance is observed annually to memorialize those lives that have been lost as a result of transphobic violence; and
- WHEREAS, since 2006, Transgender Education Advocates (TEA) of Utah has organized a vigil in Salt Lake City every year; and
- **WHEREAS**, deaths from transphobic violence have nearly doubled in the U.S. in the last year, for a total of 44 victims in the U.S. and 325 victims worldwide; and
- **WHEREAS**, the true number of victims is unknown because of intentional misgendering and the difficulty identifying the bodies of many victims; and
- **WHEREAS**, Salt Lake City values the lives and contributions to our community by transgender people; and
- **WHEREAS**, Salt Lake City has the responsibility to promote equality and prosperity for all members of the transgender community; and
- **WHEREAS**, Salt Lake City is proud to stand against the discrimination of transgender people.

# Resolution

#### NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED

that the Salt Lake City Council and Mayor of Salt Lake City strongly value the lives of transgender people and honor those lives that have been lost as a result of transphobic violence throughout the United States of America and the world

Adopted this \_\_\_\_\_\_ day of November 2020

Chris Wharton, Chair
Salt Lake City Mayor

Chris Wharton, Chair
Salt Lake City Council Member, District Three

James Rogers
Salt Lake City Council Member, District One

And Valdemoros
Salt Lake City Council Member, District Four

Darin Mano
Salt Lake City Council Member, District Five

Daniel Dugan Salt Lake City Council Member, District Six

Amy Fowler Salt Lake City Council Member, District Seven

#### Resolution

#### JOINT RESOLUTION RECOGNIZING NOVEMBER 20<sup>TH</sup> AS TRANSGENDER DAY OF REMEMBRANCE IN SALT LAKE CITY

- **WHEREAS**, in 1998, Rita Hester, a transgender woman of color was murdered in Allston, Massachusetts; and
- **WHEREAS**, the following year, Gwendolyn Ann Smith, a transgender woman, created the first Transgender Day of Remembrance in honor of Rita Hester and other transgender people who have lost their lives to violence; and
- **WHEREAS**, Transgender Day of Remembrance is observed annually to memorialize those lives that have been lost as a result of transphobic violence; and
- WHEREAS, since 2006, Transgender Education Advocates (TEA) of Utah has organized a vigil in Salt Lake City every year; and
- **WHEREAS**, deaths from transphobic violence have nearly doubled in the U.S. in the last year, for a total of 44 victims in the U.S. and 325 victims worldwide; and
- **WHEREAS**, the true number of victims is unknown because of intentional misgendering and the difficulty identifying the bodies of many victims; and
- **WHEREAS**, Salt Lake City values the lives and contributions to our community by transgender people; and
- **WHEREAS**, Salt Lake City has the responsibility to promote equality and prosperity for all members of the transgender community; and
- **WHEREAS**, Salt Lake City is proud to stand against the discrimination of transgender people.

# Resolution

#### NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED

that the Salt Lake City Council and Mayor of Salt Lake City strongly value the lives of transgender people and honor those lives that have been lost as a result of transphobic violence throughout the United States of America and the world

Adopted this \_\_\_\_\_ day of November 2020

Erin Mendenhall Salt Lake City Mayor

Andrew Johnston, Vice Chair Salt Lake City Council Member, District Two

Ana Valdemoros Salt Lake City Council Member, District Four

Daniel Dugan
Salt Lake City Council Member, District Six

Chris Wharton, Chair

Salt Lake City Council Member, District Three

Jámes Rogers

Salt Lake City Council Member, District One

Darin Mano

Salt Lake City Council Member, District Five

Amy Fowler

Salt Lake City Council Member, District Seven