Minutes for the Salt Lake City Police Civilian Review Board meeting held Monday, January 10, 2005 at 5:00 p.m. in Room 126, City County Building, 451 South State Street, Salt Lake City, Utah.

Board Members In Attendance: Brent Ward, Adrian R. Autry, Ramona Gonzales, Nafitalai Unga Kioa, Teddi Velarde, Claudia O'Grady, Nancy Appleby, Scott McCoy, Daniel Levin, Cristina Trujillo, Antje Curry, and Susan Webster

Absent Board Members: Ahmed Warfa, and Eligio White

#### Also In Attendance:

Administrator: Linda Hamilton
Administrative Assistant: Robyn Stanczyk
Police Board Advisor: Deputy City Recorder: Chris Meeker

# I. The meeting convened at 5:05 p.m. Chair Brent Ward presided.

## **II.** Approve minutes of October 11, 2004 Meeting:

**Motion:** Ms. Appleby moved and Ms. Webster seconded to approve the minutes of October 11, 2004, which motion carried, all members present voted aye.

### III. New Business

## a. Introduce new board members: Cristina Trujillo and Antje Curry.

Ms. Trujillo said she was a native of Salt Lake City. She said she studied criminal justice administration and worked as a paralegal. She said currently she was in the insurance business.

Ms. Curry said she was born in Hamburg, Germany and had lived in Salt Lake City since 1957. She said she retired from the Utah Supreme Court as a staff attorney.

All board members introduced themselves to Ms Trujillo and Ms. Curry.

# b. Review and approve quarterly board report for October 2004 through December 2004.

**Motion:** Ms. O'Grady moved and Mr. McCoy seconded to approve the quarterly board report for October through December of 2004, which motion carried, all members present voted aye.

#### c. Election of Board Chair and Vice Chair for 2005

Mr. Ward said at the last board meeting held in October nominations for Chair and Vice Chair had been accepted. He said Mr. McCoy was the only one nominated for the Chair position. He said there were two nominations for Vice Chair, Mr. Levin and Ms. Webster. He asked for a vote by the raise of hands for the Chair position. All members present voted Mr. McCoy Chair of the Civilian Review Board for 2005.

Mr. Ward asked for a vote by raise of hands for the position of Vice Chair. Ms. Webster won by one vote. Ms. Curry and Ms. Trujillo abstained from voting.

# IV. Adjourn

**Motion:** Mr. McCoy moved and Mr. Levin seconded to adjourn which motion carried, all members present voted aye.

Civilian Review Board Chair	-
Danutry City Danaulan	_
Deputy City Recorder	-

The meeting adjourned at 5: 23 p.m.