Date: July 8, 2011

To: Mayor City Council

From: Joel Paterson, Planning Manager

Re: Record of Decision for the Historic Landmark Commission Meeting held Thursday, July 7, 2011

The following Record of Decision document by the Historic Landmark Commission is being provided to you for information purposes only. No action by the Administration or Council is required at this time. Please note that any conditions of approval are not final until the minutes are ratified at the next meeting of the Historic Landmark Commission.

Public Hearings

PLNHLC2011-00167; 336 South 1200 East, Certificate of Appropriateness for Major Alterations – a request by Creed Haymond to create a second story addition by modifying the rear roof line, adding a dormer and constructing a second story walk-out deck. The single family home is located in the University Historic District and the R-2 (Single and Two Family Residential) zoning district and within City Council District Four, represented by Council Member Luke Garrott. (Staff contact: Thomas Irvin, 801-535-7932 or thomas.irvin@slcgov.com.)

Council District: 4 **Decision**: The Commission approved the request, delegating final design approval to staff.

PLNHLC2011-00296; 632 South 700 East, Certificate of Appropriateness for Replacement Windows - a request by Thomas Camoin of Salt Lake Community Action Program, representing property owner Caroline Gutarra, to replace existing windows on the sides of the property, which is a single-family building. The property is located in the Central City Historic District and the RMF-30 (Low Density Multi-Family Residential) zoning district and within City Council District Four, represented by Council Member Luke Garrott. (Staff contact: Elizabeth Reining, 801-535-6313 or <u>elizabeth.reining@slcgov.com</u>.)

Council District: 4

Decision: The Commission denied the request.

cc: Wilf Sommerkorn, Planning Director Cheri Coffey, Assistant Planning Director Frank Gray, Community and Economic Development Director Mary De La-Mare Schaefer, Community Development Deputy Director Bob Farrington, Economic Development Deputy Director David Everitt, Chief of Staff *(Continued)* Paul Nielson, Senior City Attorney Cindy Gust-Jenson, City Council Executive Director Janice Jardine, City Council Office Orion Goff, Building Services and Licensing Director DJ Baxter, Redevelopment Agency Director John Naser, Engineering Director Kevin Young, Transportation Planning Engineer Lynn Pace, Deputy City Attorney John Spencer, Property Management Historic Landmark Commissioners Planning Staff