Date: April 7, 2011

To: Mayor City Council

From: Cheri Coffey, Assistant Planning Director

Re: Record of Decision for the Historic Landmark Commission Meeting held Wednesday, April 6, 2011

The following Record of Decision document by the Historic Landmark Commission is being provided to you for information purposes only. No action by the Administration or Council is required at this time. Please note that any conditions of approval are not final until the minutes are ratified at the next meeting of the Historic Landmark Commission.

Public Hearings

PLNHLC2011-00112, 1121 E. First Avenue, Certificate of Appropriateness for Replacement Windows. A request by Warren Lloyd of Lloyd Architects, representing property owner Alex Hertz, to replace existing windows on the front and sides of the property, which is a multi-family building. The property is located in the Avenues Historic District and the SR-1A (Special Development Pattern Residential) zoning district, and within City Council District 3, represented by Stan Penfold. (Staff contact: Janice Lew, 801-535-7625, janice.lew@slcgov.com.)

Council Districts: 3

Decision: The Commission moved to approve repair of the front façade windows; approve replacement of all side elevation windows using new sash kits and rebuilt wood framing when necessary and approve full replacement of the metal windows with new wood units. The Commission also requested that the applicant attempt to preserve any usable glass from side elevation windows for the repair of the front windows.

Other Business

The Commission will consider a proposed change to their regular meeting date from the first Wednesday of the month to the first Thursday of the month in order to better accommodate interested parties.

Decision: The Commission moved to change their regular meeting date from the first Wednesday of the month to the first Thursday of the month, effective May 2011.

cc: Wilf Sommerkorn, Planning Director Cheri Coffey, Assistant Planning Director Frank Gray, Community and Economic Development Director Mary De La-Mare Schaefer, Community Development Deputy Director Bob Farrington, Economic Development Deputy Director David Everitt, Chief of Staff Paul Nielson, Senior City Attorney Cindy Gust-Jenson, City Council Executive Director Janice Jardine, City Council Office Orion Goff, Building Services and Licensing Director DJ Baxter, Redevelopment Agency Director John Naser, Engineering Director Kevin Young, Transportation Planning Engineer Lynn Pace, Deputy City Attorney John Spencer, Property Management Historic Landmark Commissioners **Planning Staff**