MEMORANDUM

DATE: September 4, 2008

TO: Mayor

City Council

FROM: Janice Lew, ex officio for Wilf Sommerkorn, Planning Director

RE: SUMMARY OF ACTIONS TAKEN BY THE HISTORIC LANDMARK

COMMISSION AT THE SEPTEMBER 3, 2008 MEETING.

The following summary of actions by the Historic Landmark Commission is being provided to you for information purposes only. No action by the Administration or Council is required at this time.

Petition PLNHLC2008-00283 (470-07-47) Liberty Park Tennis Bubble New Construction – A request by the Land Use Appeals Board for the Historic Landmark Commission to clarify their February 20, 2008 decision to approve a tennis bubble at Liberty Park, located at approximately 1051 South Constitution West Drive. Liberty Park is a Landmark Site located in the OS Open Space District. (This item was remanded at the June 30, 2008 Land Use Appeals Board meeting.) (Staff – Robin Zeigler at 535-7758 or robin.zeigler@slcgov.com)

Decision: The Commission made findings and upheld their decision to approve the Tennis

Bubble New Construction. **Council District:** 5

Council Member: Jill Remington Love

Petition PLNHLC2008-00305 Oquirrh School National Register Nomination — A request by the Children's Center, property owner, soliciting comments from the Historic Landmark Commission to list the building located at 350 South 400 East on the National Register of Historic Places. The property is zoned R-MU; Residential/Mixed Use District, and is located in City Council District 4 represented by Council Member Luke Garrott. (Staff contact: Janice Lew, 535-7625 or janice.lew@slcgov.com.)

Decision: The Commission forwarded a positive recommendation to the State Historic Preservation Officer regarding the historic nomination.

Council District: 4

Council Member: Luke Garrott

Petition PLNHLC2008-00199 Jason E. Rees, New Construction - A request by Jason Rees, for New Construction at 34 West Zane Avenue in the Capitol Hill Historic District. The proposed project is a new single-family home with an attached garage. Additionally, the applicant is requesting that the Commission grant an additional 2 feet of building height from the allowed 23 feet to 25 feet. The property is zoned SR-1A Single Family Residential in the Capitol Hill Historic District. The property is located in City Council District 3, represented by Council Member Eric Jergensen. (Staff contact: Ray Milliner, 535-7645, ray.milliner@slcgov.com).

Decision: The Commission approved the request for new construction with conditions.

Council District: 3

Council Member: Eric Jergensen

Petition PLNHLC2008-227249 Todd Gardiner New Construction — A request by Todd Gardiner for New Construction located at approximately 539 East 900 South in the Central City Historic District. The proposed project involves construction of a single-family home. The property is zoned RMF-30. The property is located in City Council District 4, represented by Council Member Luke Garrott. (Staff contact: Robin Zeigler, 535-7758, robin.zeigler@slcqov.com.)

Decision: The Commission approved the request for new construction with conditions.

Council District: 4

Council Member: Luke Garrott

<u>Petition PLNHLC2008-227931 Pieter Mensink Legalization</u> – A request by Pieter Mensink, owner, for legalization of minor alterations located at approximately 623 East First Avenue in the Avenues Historic District. The work includes modifications to the front porch of the historic home. The property is zoned SR-1A, Special Development Pattern Residential District and is located in City Council District 3, represented by Council Member Eric Jergensen. (Staff contact: Janice Lew, 535-7625, <u>janice.lew@slcgov.com</u>)

Decision: The Commission denied proposed replacement of the front porch skirting material and covering of the concrete walkway and stairs with brick or pre-cast stone and tabled legalization of the replacement of the steps to the front porch in order to allow the applicant to work with staff to find a suitable alternative and come back to the Commission for review.

Council District: 3

Council Member: Eric Jergensen

cc: Wilf Sommerkorn, Planning Director

Frank Gray, Community and Economic Development Director

Mary De La-Mare Schaefer, Community Development Deputy Director

Bob Farrington, Economic Development Deputy Director

Esther Hunter, Senior Advisor to the Mayor

Lyn Creswell, Chief Administrative Officer

Paul Nielson, Senior City Attorney

Cindy Gust-Jenson, City Council Executive Director

Janice Jardine, City Council Office

City Council Liaisons

Orion Goff, Building Services and Licensing Director

DJ Baxter, Redevelopment Agency Director

John Naser, Engineering Director

Kevin Young, Transportation Planning Engineer

Lynn Pace, Deputy City Attorney

John Spencer, Property Management

Earle Bevins, III. Historic Landmark Commission

Paula Carl, Historic Landmark Commission

Dave Fitzsimmons, Historic Landmark Commission

Arla Funk, Historic Landmark Commission

Sheleigh Harding, Historic Landmark Commission

Polly Hart, Historic Landmark Commission

Creed Haymond, Historic Landmark Commission

Warren Lloyd, Historic Landmark Commission

Jessica Norie, Historic Landmark Commission

Anne Oliver, Historic Landmark Commission

Michael Ferro, Historic Landmark Commission Alternate

Planning Commission Members

Board of Adjustment Members

Planning Staff (cc continued on next page)

Historic Landmark Commission Summary of Actions for September 3, 2008

Craig Spangenberg, Zoning Enforcement Supervisor Bill Simms, Enforcement Officer, Council District 4 Lu Calfa, Enforcement Officer, Council District 3 Historic Landmark Commission File