MEMORANDUM

DATE: March 5, 2008

TO: Mayor

City Council

FROM: George Shaw, Planning Director

RE: <u>SUMMARY OF ACTIONS TAKEN BY THE HISTORIC LANDMARK</u>

COMMISSION AT THE MARCH 5, 2008 MEETING.

The following summary of actions by the Historic Landmark Commission is being provided to you for information purposes only. No action by the Administration or Council is required at this time.

Petition 470-07-41 Oettli Single-family Dwelling (new construction) — A request to construct a single-family residence (plans revised) with an attached garage located at approximately 768 East Fifth Avenue in the Avenues Historic District. The Historic Landmark Commission denied the original request at the January 16, 2008 meeting and at the February 20, 2008 hearing, continued the hearing to the March 5, 2008.

Decision: Approved with conditions

Council District: 3

Council Member: Eric Jergensen

Petition 470-07-23 Capitol View Planned Development — A Request for final approval of new construction located at approximately 690 North West Capitol Street in the Capitol Hill Historic District consisting of seventeen (17) new single-family dwelling units. Conditional approval was granted for this project on January 2, 2008. Final approval will be based on compliance with conditions stipulated at the January 2, 2008, Historic Landmark Commission hearing which include a maximum building height for residential structures fronting on West Capitol Street of twenty-seven feet four inches (27'4") and final building and finish materials. This project is located in City Council District 3.

Decision: Approved with conditions

Council District: 3

Council Member: Eric Jergensen

Petition 470-07-15 Huntington Park Condominiums New Construction — A request by Derrick Whetton to build a new forty-three (43) unit residential condominium building located at approximately 540 East 500 South in the Central City Historic District. The proposed development is located on four parcels and contains approximately 0.79 acres. The review of this project was tabled by the Historic Landmarks Commission on February 5, 2008. The property is

<u>located in an R-O Residential Office Zoning District and a RMF-35 Moderate Density Multi-Family</u> Residential Zoning District and is in City Council District 4.

Decision: Continued to April 16, 2008

Council District: 4

Council Member: Luke Garrott

Petition No. 470-08-01 Liberty Park Children's Garden. A request by Salt Lake City
Engineering, represented by Dell Cook, Project Manager, for final approval of the Liberty Park
Children's Garden located at approximately 600 East and 900 South. Liberty Park is a Salt Lake
City Landmark Site. This item received conceptual approval from the Historic Landmark
Commission at the June 7, 2006 meeting. This site is located in City Council District 5.

Decision: Approved

Council District: 5

Council Member: Jill Remington Love

CC:

Mary De La-Mare Schaefer, Acting Director Lyn Creswell, Chief Administrative Officer Cindy Gust-Jenson, City Council Executive Director Janice Jardine, City Council Office Orion Goff, Building Services and Licensing Director DJ Baxter, Redevelopment Agency Director John Naser, Engineering Director Kevin Young, Transportation Planning Engineer Lynn Pace, Deputy City Attorney John Spencer, Property Management City Council Liaisons Dave Fitzsimmons, Historic Landmark Commission Noreen Heid, Historic Landmark Commission Pete Ashdown, Historic Landmark Commission Paula Carl, Historic Landmark Commission Creed Haymond, Historic Landmark Commission Esther Hunter, Historic Landmark Commission Warren Lloyd, Historic Landmark Commission Jessica Norie, Historic Landmark Commission Anne Oliver, Historic Landmark Commission Sheleigh Harding, Historic Landmark Commission Frank Algarin, Planning Commission Tim Chambless, Planning Commission Babs De Lay, Planning Commission Robert Forbis, Planning Commission Peggy McDonough, Planning Commission Susie McHugh, Planning Commission Prescott Muir. Planning Commission Kathy Scott, Planning Commission

Matthew Wirthlin, Planning Commission Mary J. Woodhead, Planning Commission Tom Berggren, Board of Adjustment Catherine Dunn, Board of Adjustment Gary M. Jones, Board of Adjustment Michael F. Jones, Board of Adjustment Rex Olsen, Board of Adjustment Planning Staff Historic Landmark Commission File