MEMORANDUM

DATE: January 18, 2008

TO: Mayor

City Council

FROM: George Shaw, Planning Director

RE: <u>SUMMARY OF ACTIONS TAKEN BY THE HISTORIC LANDMARK</u>

COMMISSION AT THE JANUARY 16, 2007 MEETING.

The following summary of actions by the Historic Landmark Commission is being provided to you for information purposes only. No action by the Administration or Council is required at this time.

Petition No. 470-07-42 Celestino Legalization of stone siding on a contributing structure. A request by Christine Celestino for approval of a stone façade that was added to the front of the contributing structure located at approximately 816 East Second Avenue in the Avenues Historic District. The stone façade was installed without either a Certificate of Appropriateness or a building permit. The subject property is zoned SR-1A (Special Development Pattern Residential District).

Decision: Denied legalization for stone siding. Approved aluminum or stucco siding.

Council District: 3

Council Member: K. Eric Jergensen

Petition No. 470-07-41 Oettli Single-family Dwelling (new construction). A request to construct a single-family residence with an attached garage located at approximately 768 East Fifth Avenue in the Avenues Historic District.

Decision: Commissioner Lloyd moved to deny the applicant's request to construct a

single family residence. The Commission finds that the proposed structure does not meets Standard 11.5 of the Design Guidelines for Residential Historic Districts in Salt Lake City. Specifically, the house is not constructed in a manner that is similar to the scale that is established on the block and that the garage door elements do not have a precedent historically, nor do they have a precedent on the block face or development pattern. The Commission counsels the applicant to refer to the Residential Design Guidelines, minutes of hearing, and to bring an alternative proposal back to

staff.

Commissioner Norie seconded the motion.

All voted, "Aye.", the motion carried unanimously.

Council District: 3

Council Member: K. Eric Jergensen

Case No. 470-07-44 Morris Legalization of major alterations. A request by Ray Morris to legalize alterations to the front façade of a noncontributing apartment building located at 830 East Sixth Avenue in the Avenues Historic District. The property is located in the SR1-A Special Development Pattern Zoning District. The work was initiated without a Certificate of Appropriateness.

Decision: The Commission passed a motion to legalize the alterations to the front

façade on the main floor of the structure and require the applicant to remove the second story porch and door and work with staff to find an appropriate

solution to restoring the second floor.

Council District: 3

Council Member: K. Eric Jergensen

Petition No. 470-07-43 Curry and Larr Addition to a contributing structure. A request by Four Seasons, Inc, representing Antje Curry and Gordan Larr, to construct a glass, brick, and aluminum clad wood addition to the rear of the house located at approximately 1187 East Third Avenue in the Avenues Historic District. The property is located in the SR1-A Special Development Pattern Zoning District.

Decision: Approved the sun room rear addition.

Mary De La-Mare Schaefer, Acting Director

Council District: 3

Council Member: K. Eric Jergensen

CC:

George Shaw, Planning Director Doug Wheelwright, Deputy Planning Director Cheri Coffey, Deputy Planning Director Lyn Creswell, Chief Administrative Officer Cindy Gust-Jenson, City Council Executive Director Janice Jardine, City Council Office Orion Goff, Building Services and Licensing Director DJ Baxter, Redevelopment Agency Director John Naser, Engineering Director Kevin Young, Transportation Planning Engineer Lvnn Pace, Deputy City Attorney John Spencer, Property Management City Council Liaisons Dave Fitzsimmons, Historic Landmark Commission Noreen Hied, Historic Landmark Commission Pete Ashdown, Historic Landmark Commission Paula Carl. Historic Landmark Commission Creed Haymond, Historic Landmark Commission Esther Hunter, Historic Landmark Commission Warren Lloyd, Historic Landmark Commission Jessica Norie, Historic Landmark Commission Anne Oliver, Historic Landmark Commission Frank Algarin, Planning Commission Tim Chambless, Planning Commission Babs De Lay, Planning Commission Robert Forbis, Planning Commission Peggy McDonough, Planning Commission Susie McHugh, Planning Commission Prescott Muir, Planning Commission Kathy Scott, Planning Commission Matthew Wirthlin, Planning Commission Mary J. Woodhead. Planning Commission Tom Berggren, Board of Adjustment Catherine Dunn, Board of Adjustment

Gary M. Jones, Board of Adjustment Michael F. Jones, Board of Adjustment Rex Olsen, Board of Adjustment Historic Landmark Commission File